RSS

Avencourt: Details

04 Nov

Avencourt 2.1

With a few minor (easy) fixes and of course the addition of several key buildings, this map is quickly nearing a finish. Using an early version of the map (before I pulled all the buildings up and added roofs, and without some small fixes to positioning/sizing), I’m rebuilding the map essentially from scratch. This is just so I can add details, which you can see in the walls and towers. I’m not trying to be incredibly accurate with this details, and won’t be adding anything more “extravagant” than what I’ve got here simply because the map is supposed to be in a hand-drawn, hand-inked, 17th-century aerial perspective style. Having said that, I went into the first version knowing I was going to be rebuilding everything; I really wanted to make sure I had the scale looking alright, and I needed a 3D map to work out the line/edge and shading styles.

Hopefully I’ll have a few different buildings to post in the next day or so; I’ll be making about 3-5 different buildings for each section of the city, which I’ll then duplicate and make minor modifications to in order to fill in the town.

Key buildings, such as the Opera House, Tartarus Prison, Glandem House, and the Royal Palace will, of course, be modeling as one-offs.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 4, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a comment